EDEX Sithuwam celebrates 10 years of empowering young artists to excel

EDEX Sithuwam, art competition, has created a genuine interest in art lovers, who look forward to take part in this popular competition, which gives an opportunity for each artist from a suburban or rural milieu, to become a STAR!

This year the MAS Arena Building of the Royal College Union, becomes the colourful canopy to showcase more than 250 winning paintings, from child artists island-wide, and to recognise them at the annual Art Competition.

These young artists who are the proud winners of the EDEX Expo, Sithuwam 2017, have been selected for skill, ingenuity, interpretation of theme, and sharing their talent, perception and creativity.

This year too, Lankem Robbailac was the sponsor, for the 4th consecutive time, aligning its brand to EDEX Sithuwam, which has aligned itself to the EDEX Sithuwam Competition, in making dreams a reality.

The organisers appreciate the support given to make this art competition a success, as the sponsors have created a heartfelt alliance to promote the competition and the budding artists.

The Judges of the competition had a gigantic task to select the winners, from a total of more than 12,000, as each entry was special.

All entries received were colourful, bold and beautiful to behold, and the organisers felt a sense of pride as the entries kept flowing in. This has been the appeal of Sithuwam, touching the hearts and minds of the children, who take time of their busy school schedules to indulge art.

Selected exhibits can be viewed at the MAS Arena Sports complex on March 3rd and 4th 2017 from 9.00 to 5.00 p.m. An awards Ceremony will be held on 4th March 2017 at 9.00 a.m.


This Year’s Proud Winners Are:

 Primary Category

1 W.P. Binul Dulmika Pathirana St. Bernadett's Model School Polgahawela

2 Nuthara Yenuri Abhayawickrama Musaeus College Colombo 07

3 P.G. Devhara Nethuki Paranagama Muhandiram Vidyalaya Deraniyagala


Junior Category

1 J.K. Yasasi HansinaAnanda Balika VidyalayaColombo 10

2 H.G. Vinuth Apsara President's College Sri Jayawardhanapura, Kotte

3 Shenalie Kavya Mendis Musaeus College Colombo 07


Intermediate Category

1 A.K. Ewmini Minthara Perera Visakha Vidyalaya Colombo 05

2 K. Kavindu Shehan Mahinda Rajapaksha College Homagama

3 S.M. Thamasha Dinithi Manawage Ferguson High School Rathnapura


Senior Category

1 U.K.D. Dulhan Rajitha Senevirathna Maliyadeva V. Kurunegala

2 I.W.M. Tharini Chamodi Wanigasuriya Thopawewa M.V.Polonnaruwa

3 K.P.D. Sasindu LakshanSri Sarananda Central College Wewagama